Hijaz Railway Saudia Arabia – Evidence of “Arab Uprising” 1916-1918

Results of Larence of Arabia and the “Arab Uprising” 1916-1918

The Ottoman Empire built a railroad from Damascus,Syria to Medina, Saudi Arabia for their Muslim followers to travel to their holy shrines in Medina and Mecca, Saudi Arabia. Part of the railroad ties were made in Pennsylvania by a U. S. railroad manufacture in 1885. In this part of Arabia the “Arab uprisings” in 1916-1918 against the Ottoman Empire were partly led by a British soldier later referred to as Lawrence of Arabia. He was famed for his exploits in blowing up the Hajaz railroad among other daring encounters with the occupying Turks.

Hijaz Railway Northern Saudi Arabia 10 miles South of Jordanian border lies the remains of a locomotive blasted from it’s tracks and laying on it’s side. The left front drive wheel was shattered laying in pieces on the sand. None of the metal parts showed signs of rust in 1976.

Graves of 9+ deceased with wrecked locomotive in distance. The Arabs/British/Turks had buried the dead.

Looking North near the wreck an old railway station of the Hijaz Railway located 20 miles South of the Jordanian border in Saudi Arabia crumbles in the heat and wind of the desert. Picture taken in December 1976. The rails rust free from the sand and wind look like trains passed over them daily in the 90 years since the last train came this way.

Wild Camels in Nefud Desert near the Hijaz Railway

I am building a larger photo blog with many more photos of Arabia at  70images.com .

The new photo blog of Saudi Arabia will be expanded with new photos not seen before…  check it out now.

www.70Images.com

~ by notsohairyjerry on June 23, 2008.

10 Responses to “Hijaz Railway Saudia Arabia – Evidence of “Arab Uprising” 1916-1918”

  1. I visited the train in the late seventies. The locomotives firebox door is now installed in a house in Edinburgh. Not by me I hasten to add.Two years ago the site was not accessible due to a security perimeter.Many stations (with some rolling stock) and forts are close to the ‘Desert Highway’ from the Saudi border to Amman.

  2. Hello Jerry

    Sorry my english is very bad !!!!!!
    I am a french numeric and plasticien artist registered to the ” Maison des Artistes ” in Paris
    I love very much your work
    I work with digital pictures ( only digital pictures )
    I assembled and transform many pictures from many way ( photo, paint, digital ,draw ,etc…for made one final animated numéric picture….
    Please can I integrated the remains of a locomotive laying on it’s side in integration in my background for one of my numeric creations

    my email is patrickgoubet@hotmail.com

    Thank you very much

    Bests Regards Jerry

    Patrick

    • Patrick
      Your English reads fine. Keep up the good work. My French is so bad I will not even try to write it.
      You may use the photo of the wrecked engine in your artistict work. Please take a picture or make me a copy and send to me. I cannot figure out whatever you plan to do with the photo

      My direct email is kylake@me.com.

      Sorry it took so long to reply. I just received your message.

      Jerry Miller

  3. Hi,

    I visited the wreck of the train in 1978, I was working on the construction of the new military city in Tabuk. My friends & I took the journey up to it one weekend and took a few souveneirs from the wreck. we cut off a section of the track & I have a bolt off one of the rolling stock. I also have a few photos of the wreck. Whilst there we trekked up to the remains of the Turkish fort , now in ruins, on the hill overlooking the station.

    Sadly , shortly after we visited the wreck all access was denied for some reason, so we never got a chance to re-visit it.

    I can get copies of my photos scanned & send the to you, if you are interested.

    regards
    Alan

    • All access was denied, probably because they wanted to proyect it from people who visited it and took bits away with them…

  4. ticked follow up email box

  5. […] You can see more pictures on this subject from the excellent picture blog of Jerry C Miller […]

  6. Excellent addition to my desert images and a fine memorial to one of the great men of the 20th century–T.E. Lawrence! Thanks for your posting!

    JBC, Colorado

  7. I have a piece of original railway line from this railway contact me if you are interested

  8. […] Arabistan’daki Devrik Vagon Fotoğrafları: Not So Hairy Jerry […]

Leave a Reply

 
